Bollywood Rules!

I’ve decided I need to start posting on Medium at least once a week. What about? I’m not sure. Will it be funny? Maybe, Probably not as I’m not going to edit and just type stream of consciousness as an exercise.

That being said, If you haven’t seen the movie RRR yet, (It’s streaming on Netflix) I highly suggest it. It’s 300% nonsense. I love it. It’s in my TOP THREE MOVIES of the year so far right up next to TOP GUN 2 and EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE. Why do I love it? I’m torn on the answer. It’s a bunch of Indian and I think Hindu actors smiling and dancing and fighting the whole time and even when bad stuff is happening to them their heads are bobbing and smiling and singing. The action rivals that of a Fast and the Furious movie and it’s completely bonkers. I LOVE IT. Since watching it, I’ve watched a few more Bollywood type of movies and they’re great and original. Some could use more singing and dancing but I dig it. I can’t put my finger on why. Is it because of the dancing, singing, story, or is it because ALL OF THAT gives me an escape from the standard cookie cutter american hollywood films? If John Wick started dancing and singing while shooting people, would I think that’s stupid? or love it as much as when someone who doesn’t look like me does it? Is it because the movies are all over 2 hours long with actual character building? I don’t know, but I’m hooked and I love the ones I’ve seen. Feel free to comment if you actually read this and tell me some to watch!!

Cheers.

Razzle

--

--